Be-Be’s Cafe • Freshly Cooked Breakfasts & Lunches • Home Made Cakes • New Forest Ice Cream Open Monday-Saturday 8am-4.15pm; Sunday 9am-3pm Order online at www.bebescafe.co.uk for Collection or Delivery • Patio area • Light and airy atmosphere • Very Friendly Welcome Pylewell Road, Hythe • 023 8020 7608 Where the Forest Meets the Sea VISIT HYTHE & The Waterside 2022 N estled between the edge of the New Forest and Southampton Water; ‘where the forest meets the sea’, the village of Hythe, with its surrounding area known as The Waterside is the perfect location to watch the majestic cruise liners. The settlement of Hythe dates back to Anglo Saxon times and has a fascinating history. Its name derives from ‘Hyth’ an Old English word for a permanent landing place on a river or sheltered estuary. Hythe’s most famous landmark; the historic Pier, includes Britain’s oldest continuously operating pier train. The Pier itself opened on January 1st 1881, when a hand propelled truck carried luggage and goods along its 700 yards’ (640m) length. In 1901 a truck running on narrow gauge railway lines was introduced, then in 1922 rails were laid and electricity supply provided to run a passenger train. Information boards along the pier tell more about its history and some of its famous visitors. Within a short distance of Hythe are the lovely villages of Dibden Purlieu, Blackfield, Fawley, Exbury and Beaulieu, all with their own unique vistas and characteristics. While the beaches at Lepe Country Park with its fascinating history of the D-Day Preparations and underground Cold War Monitoring Post, and Calshot with its historic Tudor Castle and Flying Boat Hangars situated on Calshot Spit are both well worth a visit and offer picturesque views of The Solent and the Isle of Wight. Enjoy a leisurely stroll around Hythe village with its many unique shops, café’s, pubs and restaurants, Hythe Marina with its distinctive fishing village style development, or along the raised boardwalk of the Promenade. There are plenty of waterfront places to sit and enjoy the views. Along the High Street, buildings and facades date back to Georgian times; although parts of The Lord Nelson pub date back to the mid 1600’s. Look upwards at the windows above some of the shops to see the character detail. You’ll also spot Hythe’s two red Pillar Post Boxes outside the Post Office. Not far from the Pier, Ebenezers, a former chapel built in 1845, is now restored and converted into a friendly, family run pub, retaining many of its original features. On The Marsh, the white brick building, now occupied by BeBe’s Café, was built in 1883 for tourists coming by ferry from Southampton looking for refreshments. It served as Hythe’s Post Office between the wars, before returning to its original use as a café. Next door the distinctive building, previously the Anchor and Hope pub, with its arched windows, is now the home of a local community magazine, The Herald. The imposing former Drummond Arms Hotel Building in Prospect Place was built in 1840, now converted into apartments and offices, stands opposite the Pier entrance. In St. John’s Street, behind The Grove, delightful gardens offer uninterrupted views across the water and a stone commemoration to the pioneering work of Sir Christopher Cockerell, the inventor of the hovercraft, who lived in the village until shortly before his death in 1999. A little further along at the bottom of South Street, a blue plaque fixed to a picturesque cottage, announces that T. E. Lawrence, better known as Lawrence of Arabia, lived there from 1931-32. The Waterside Heritage Centre, located at the old Hythe Train Station, just outside of the village centre is open three days a week; see the map for more details. The New Forest Tour Bus stops at Hythe from Saturday 25th June until Saturday 18th September. Visit www.thenewforesttour.info for times.